Unity Dinner 2007

Unity Dinner 2007

Unity Dinner 2007

Sixth Annual Unity Dinner sponsored by Indo-American Community Federation (IACF-USA) and co-sponsored by FIA of Northern California, Global organization of the people of Indian origin (GOPIO) and several other diverse organizations at Hilton Newark Fremont, 39900 Balentine Dr., Newark. (510) 589-3702.

Chief Guest: John Garamendi, Lieutenant Governor of California

Date: March 23, 2007 (Friday)
Time: 6.30PM to 12:00 Midnight
$70/Person, $130/ Couple, $650/ Table of ten
No registration at the door!

Please mail your check toIACF, P O Box 14902, Fremont, CA 94539

Venue: Hilton Newark/Fremont
39900 Balentine Drive, Newark, California, United States 94560-0564
Tel: 1-510-490-8390 Fax: 1-510-651-7828


Local Map

Watch video from the event!

Unity through Diversity: A Model for America in the Twenty First Century

A Presentation by
Indo-American Community Federation (IACF-USA)
“Bringing community together”

Co-Sponsored by:
San Francisco Chapter

Keynote Speaker and Chief Guest:
John Garamendi, Lieutenant Governor, State of California

Special Thanks to:
Event Decor
Sharon Yap Design
Dirk Lorenz & Fremont Flowers

Silver Sponsors
New United Motor Manufacturing Inc (NUMMI)
Kaiser Permanente
Cal Coast Financial Corp.
Fremont Motorcars- Sama Hanif
Citizens for Better Community (CBC)

City of Fremont
Fremont Chamber of Commerce
Fremont Education Foundation
Washington Hospital
Cargill Salt
Pan Pacific Bank
DNA Building Construction, Inc.
Baytronics, Inc.
Ohlone College Foundation
Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Alameda County
Hispanic Community Affairs Council
IACF Board of Directors
Voice of India (Papiha Nandy)
The American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (AAPIO)
Indian American Friendship Council (IAFC)
National Federation of Indian American Associations (NFIA)
Federation of Indo-American Association of Northern California (FIANC)
Home of Hope, Inc.
Indo-Americans for Better Community
United Hindu Front (UHF)
Hindu Swayam Sewak Sangh (HSS)
Kashmir Task Force
Dr. Deepak Sachdev, DDS
Law offices of Mahesh Bajoria
Om Choudhary (Insurance Services)
League of Volunteers
Dr. Dharam Salwan
Shafi Refai – United Muslims of America (UMA)
California Homeopathic Clinic (Dr. Jatinder Kumar)
Siliconeer Magazine
Tri-City Voice
California State Automobile Association (AAA)
Zain Jeewanjee Insurance Co.
Dr. Subroto Kundu
Kidango (Paul Miller)

Master of Ceremonies
Jesse Singh
Student, UC Davis

Social Hour
National Anthem

Lena Zee (American),
Papiha, Vanie Zutshi, Richa Sachdev, Anu Pashawaria (Indian)Introduction of Program by Ashok Kumar,
IACF Director

Tim Reilly’s Canyon Band

Welcome and Opening Remarks
IACF President, Shashi Sharma

Address by IACF Chairman
Jeevan Zutshi
State Senator Ellen Corbett
Assembly member Alberto Torrico
Assembly member Mary Hayashi
Fremont Mayor, Bob Wasserman
Newark Mayor, Dave Smith
Hayward Mayor, Mike Sweeney
Milpitas Mayor, Jose Esteves
County Supervisor Scott Haggerty
County Supervisor Nate Miley

Keynote Speech by Lieutenant Governor
John Garamendi
Introduction by Rahul Zutshi

Awards and Recognitions

2007 Honorees:
Garrett Yee
Citizen of the year
Anmol Mahal,M.D
Director, CMA
Leadership in Medicine
Cathy Howard and Sandi Soliday
Dedication and Commitment
Roger Bakshi
Gaby Machuca
Small Business
Burrito Loco
Gary Robinson
Small Business
Community Service
The Saddle Rack

Chinese Folk Dance
by Academy of Chinese performing arts (ACPA)
Introduction by Lena Zee

Chinese Martial Arts
by O -MKei Kung Fu School

Recognition of Community Organizations
& Sponsors
Keshav Ayare, IACF Director

Ohlone Community College- Looking to the future
by Dr. Doug Treadway, President

Mexican Ballet Folklorico
(Maestros Del Folklor Mexicano)

Semi-Classical Kathak dance
(Kahe Chhed mohe from Devdas)
by Joya Nandy Kazi and Ballori Sengupta

“How schools can help build hate free community”
by Nina Moore, Trustee, FUSD

Beat of the Bay presented by
Matters of Community

Recognition of Artists
by Dr. Subhash Garg, IACF Director

Vote of thanks
by Dr. Naresh Sharma, IACF Director

DJ Dance
Desi Jam

Celebrate Fremont Committee
Fremont Chamber of Commerce
Congressman Mike Honda

Dr. Krishna Reddy, Founder, Indian American Friendship Council
Jan Perkins, Former City Manager of Fremont
Terry Alderete, Hispanic leader
Dr. Raj Prasad, Educationist and an Indo-American Pioneer
Home of Hope (Dr. Nilima Sabharwal)

Legislator of the Year – Assembly member John Dutra
India Community Center (ICC)
Dr. Dharam Salwan for community service
Dr. Piyush Agarwal, AIA

Citizens for Better Community – Organization of the Year
Shirley Sisk – Volunteer of the Year
Lifelong dedication and service award – Dan Archer, Ohlone College Trustee
Dr. Subroto Kundu for promoting political awareness
Dr. Sarbjit Hundal for Community Service

Steve Waterhouse, Chief Editor, The Argus, for excellence in Journalism
Ramesh and Bina Murarka, India West, for excellence in Journalism

IACF Board of Directors
Mr. Jeevan Zutshi, Chairman
Mr. Shashi Sharma, President
Dr. Naresh Sharma, Treasurer
Dr. Subash Garg, Secretary
Mr. Keshav Ayare, Director
Mr. Ashok Kumar, Director
Dr. Deepak sachdev, Advisory Board Member

IACF Youth Vice President:
Rahul Zutshi

IACF Awards And Recognition Committee:
Timothy Reilly, Vice President, Union Bank
Honorable Steve Cho, City of Fremont Council member

Dinner Menu:
Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Food served.
Salad, Hot Rolls, Chicken Florentine with Fresh Seasonal Vegetables and Rice Pilaf,
The Fresh Seasonal Garden Vegetables, Creamy Pasta Alfredo,
Tramisu desert, Coffee;

For additional information, please Visit www.IndoCommunity.US

Unity Dinner 2023

We are glad that you preferred to contact us. Please fill our short form and one of our friendly team members will contact you back.